13 comments

  1. Thank you very much. Pain in the tushie, this one.


    • ‘Tis my pleasure. I see you commented at the bug report- awesome. I’m going to add that link to the main post right now.


  2. Thank you very much for this fix. This save me a HUGE amount of time. I was about ready to re-install EVERYTHING. Thanks again.


  3. After at least 4 days of freaking out and wracking my brains, spending long nights searching the web…the fix is far more simple than this.

    I too had Afganistan Arabic default set after performing the upgrade from the Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 beta to 9.04 final a few days ago.

    Simply:

    System -> Preferences -> Keyboard
    Then select the Layout tab and add your preferred language, and delete Afganistan Arabic (or whatever else is causing you nightmares).

    I also went to:

    System -> Administration -> Language Support

    Then mess with the Add/Remove Languages function.

    Enjoy.


    • Unfortunately, to the best of my knowledge you cannot do these things without booting in… ?


  4. but I’ve installed it with wubi. how can i edit the files with a live cd?


    • I apologize for the delay in my response, I lost my password…
      I don’t have an answer for you right now, but I’m going to get in contact with the folks at wubi to find out how to access the file in question from Windows. I’m certain it’s possible and can be fixed, but if you don’t want to wait any longer it might be easier to reinstall. I’m sending you an e-mail as well, and will let you know what I find out from the wubi folks.


  5. I am a novice with ubuntu, I only changed to linux at christmas although I have experience with windows from 98 onwards. I have no live cd and only have windows computers in the house besides my ubuntu one which is suffering from the login language bug since i upgraded. I dont know how to make a live cd from a windows computer and have no other linux one. I am miserable now as the other computers are my 2 sons and I cant get into mine.


  6. Thank you very much. really I’m appreciated your help
    this topic saved my files was inside the laptop.still
    didn’t try it yet ,but I will do the steps & give a reply .
    hope to be fixed next update .
    Best regards .


  7. I am sorry but it is problems like this that will stop Linux ever becoming a mass operating system. My new Linux box is now rendered useless. I have a solution though. I will just wipe the hard drive and install XP rather than running it under virualbox. This was my attempt to break free of Microsoft but at least whenever I have upgraded in Windows my machine hasn’t decided catch 22 is the best way forward.


    • I would argue that Linux SHOULDN’T become a mass operating system- it simply wasn’t designed for that. It’s a specialty operating system.


  8. grrr, “sudo dpkg-reconfigure console-setup” didn’t work for me from live-usb…
    they better fix this fast
    still bugging us at this day!

    went back to 8.10, at least not this bastard of a bug in 8.10!


  9. thank you a lot i had the problem and it is solved now



Leave a Reply

